Best Birthday Present

My husband is really good at making me feel really loved on my birthday. His gifts are always perfect but his words are what means the most to me. I have yet to have a birthday without tears of gratefulness.

Today, on my birthday, my husband shared with my his testimony of the atonement of Jesus Christ because I’ve been wanting to learn more about the atonement recently. Being a convert to the church (4+ years and counting), sometimes I feel embarrassed when I don’t know the simple stories of Jesus. When the Sunday school teachers says “Everyone knows the story of ____ “… I am usually the one who does not know that story but is too embarrassed to raise my hand. I admit that I have not studied the bible as much as the modern revelations of the church. My husband is very well versed in gospel doctrine and I feel blessed whenever he teaches me or answers my questions. However, it always comes down to the fact that I have to read, learn, and gain my own testimony.

I realized in order for me to better understand the atonement of Jesus Christ I need to study the Bible, the Book of Mormon, the words of the prophets, attend the temple, and also receiving personal revelation. If I only choose one of the sources, it is not comprehensive enough to understand the importance of this great event. Understanding the atonement is a lifelong process and it’s ok that I don’t know everything right now.

I’ve been studying and watching the new bible videos made by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. They are absolutely amazing and they make it simple enough for me to understand.

Here are 10 interesting things I’ve learn about the atonement:

  1. Jesus Christ suffered in Gethsemane “the pains of all men, yea, the pains of every living creature, both men, women, and children, who belong to the family of Adam.” (2 Nephi 9:21) He also suffered “temptations, and pain of body, hunger, thirst, and fatigue, even more than man can suffer, except it be unto death; for behold, blood cometh from every pore, so great [was] his anguish.” (Mosiah 3:7)
  2. The suffering in Gethsemane was so much pain that Christ pray to God saying: “Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me: nevertheless not what I will, but what thou wilt.” (Mark 14:36)
  3. Jesus Christ was also denied by his own disciples, who were his friends, during his greatest time of need. Christ took three of his disciples to the garden of Gethsemane. The entire time that Christ was suffering in the garden, the three disciples fell asleep. (Matt 26:36-46, Mark 14:32-42, Luke 22:47-48, John 18:2-3)
  4. After suffering for all the pains of the world in Gethsemane, Jesus Christ was denied, mocked and spit upon by government leaders (Matt 27:2), chief priests (Matt 27:41), and a multitude of people (Matt 27:20). They all wanted him to be crucified. (John 19:6)
  5. Jesus Christ was beaten 39 times with a Roman whip (Mat 27:26). Roman whips had “had pieces of bone, glass, or metal on the ends of it to tear the flesh”. The reason why he was beaten 39 times is because anyone who survives 40 whippings are released from their punishment. (2 Cor 11:24) After whipping they put a crown of thorns on his head. (Matt 29:29)
  6. Jesus Christ carried his own cross to Golgotha to be crucified. (John 19:17)
  7. Jesus Christ allowed wicked people to crucify him after all the horrible events that have already happened to him. The unbelievers drove nails through the palms of his hands, wrists, and feet. (Ps. 22:11–18) Being in the position of crucification is the most horrible slow punishment and death anyone could ever experience. (Crucifixion)
  8. While on the cross Jesus Christ said, “Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do”. (Luke 23:34)
  9. After being on the cross Jesus Christ, He said “it is finished” meaning the atonement was completed. He gave up the ghost which means he chose to die a mortal death. (John 19:30)
  10. Jesus Christ was resurrected and we will all be resurrected because of His atonement. Everyone who is willingly to have faith in Christ, repent of their sins, are baptized in His name, receive the gift of the Holy Ghost and confirmation into Christ’s Church” and endure joyfully to the end will be received into celestial kingdom. Those who repent will not have to suffer what Christ went through and be able to have a happy life. (The Atonement of Jesus Christ)

What a great birthday it is to learn more about the greatest gift anyone can ever receive!

7 thoughts on “Best Birthday Present”

  1. We had fun watching the video. I wanted to learn more about the atonement and had a book recommended to me that you would like called “The Infinite Atonement” by Tad R Callister. It was pretty comprehensive and I learned new things from it.

Leave a comment